by plainspeak


Well, Nobody has asked me yet, as to what my philosophy of life is, but if somebody asks, I would exclaim that, if I have to tell in brief I would tell, “we are on earth for as much time as we live, and after our death, there is eternal nothingness, and so, my only aim is to enjoy my stay here”, and if I have to tell it in detail, I would have to quote a few great thinkers. This list of quotes was collected when I came across some great ones on http://en.wikiquote.org , when I was bored and had nothing else to do.

Another link which is great for time pass:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_unusual_deaths

Voltaire –
Man is free at the instant he wants to be.
Paradise is where I am.
The man, who in a fit of melancholy, kills himself today, would have wished to live had he waited a week.
Unsourced –
The man who leaves money to charity in his will is only giving away what no longer belongs to him.
Think for yourselves and let others enjoy the privilege to do so too.

Gandhi –
An eye for an eye will make the whole world blind.

Einstein –
A happy man is too satisfied with the present to dwell too much on the future.
If my theory of relativity is proven correct, Germany will claim me as a German and France will say I am a man of the world. If it’s proven wrong, France will say I am a German and Germany will say I am a Jew.
Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving.

Sartre –
He was free, free in every way, free to behave like a fool or a machine, free to accept, free to refuse, free to equivocate; to marry, to give up the game, to drag this death weight about with him for years to come. He could do what he liked, no one had the right to advise him, there would be for him no Good or Evil unless he thought them into being.
Monsieur … I do not believe in God; his existence has been disproved by Science. But in the concentration camp, I learned to believe in men.
Generosity is nothing else than a craze to possess. All which I abandon, all which I give, I enjoy in a higher manner through the fact that I give it away…. To give is to enjoy possessively the object which one gives.
One always dies too soon—or too late. And yet, life is there, finished: the line is drawn, and it must all be added up. You are nothing other than your life.
When the rich make war, it’s the poor that die.
Man can will nothing unless he has first understood that he must count on no one but himself; that he is alone, abandoned on earth in the midst of his infinite responsibilities, without help, with no other aim than the one he sets himself, with no other destiny than the one he forges for himself on this earth.

Albert Camus –
There is not love of life without despair about life.
Since we’re all going to die, it’s obvious that when and how don’t matter.
I may not have been sure about what really did interest me, but I was absolutely sure about what didn’t.
I had only a little time left and I didn’t want to waste it on God.
Nobody realizes that some people expend tremendous energy merely to be normal.
There is but one truly serious philosophical problem, and that is suicide. Judging whether life is or is not worth living amounts to answering the fundamental question of philosophy. All the rest — whether or not the world has three dimensions, whether the mind has nine or twelve categories — comes afterward. These are games; one must first answer.
To two men living the same number of years, the world always provides the same sum of experiences. It is up to us to be conscious of them.
The preceding merely defines a way of thinking. But the point is to live.
There is always a philosophy for lack of courage.
Poor and free rather than rich and enslaved. Of course, men want to be both rich and free, and this is what leads them at times to be poor and enslaved.
Do not wait for the Last Judgment. It takes place every day
A healthy attitude also includes faults.
Beauty is unbearable, drives us to despair, offering us for a minute the glimpse of an eternity that we should like to stretch out over the whole of time.
Man is the only creature who refuses to be what he is.
The current motto for all of us can only be this: without giving up anything on the plane of justice, yield nothing on the plane of freedom.
We have nothing to lose except everything.
When the meaning of life has been suppressed, there still remains life.
You will never be happy if you keep searching for what happiness consists of. You will never live if you keep looking for the meaning of life without living it.

Simone de Beauvoir –
I tore myself away from the safe comfort of certainties through my love for truth — and truth rewarded me.

African –
The path is made by walking

